Earlyact, Interact and Rotary Add New Members in Big Numbers
PHILIPSBURG, SINT MAARTEN – November 20, 2015 – The Rotary Club of Sint Maarten, along with the Learning Unlimited Preparatory School Earlyact and Interact Clubs, held a joint induction ceremony on November 19th at Learning Unlimited.
Melanie Daboul, Ed Bardfield, Sherrylle De Haarte and Dimple Sagre all were formally inducted as members of the Rotary Club of Sint Maarten by President Jeffrey “Soc” Sochrin in presence of Assistant Governor Louis Wever and Membership Committee Chair Maayke Martina.  In addition, the Learning Unlimited Preparatory School Earlyact Club and Interact Club each installed its new Board of Directors and a number of new members.  Present for this auspicious event were Rotary Advisors to Learning Unlimited, Henna Budhrani and Robert Judd, along with New Generations Committee Chair, James Ferris and Learning Unlimited Headmaster, Robert Gibson.
Leading the Interact Club at Learning Unlimited for the coming year is President Shivani Advani, Secretary/President-Elect Priti Budhrani, Vice President Amar Alwani, Sergeant-At-Arms Mohit Menghani, Treasurer, Hrithik Alwani, Club Service Chair Ashika Lakhwani, Finance Committee Chair Pritika Lakhwani, International Relations Chair Viren Baharani, Public Relations Chair Hanaya Merlet and Fundraising Chair Sanjana Mahtani.  The following new members of the Interact Club were inducted:  Anughya Bijlani, Sabrina Khemlani, Kahlua Marchant, Youri Cheri, Tushaar Goklani, Vikesh Mirpuri, Zeynep Uysal, Keya Pariani, Vanshi Ramchandani, Juliette Grea, Lou Meziere, Emily Sang, Zach Brook, Royal Ozkan, Jackson Leone, Katie Caputo.
Leading the Earlyact Club at Learning Unlimited for the coming year is President Sahil Khatnani, Secretary/President-Elect Drake Arielle Daboul, Vice President Summer Jean Morton, Vice President Riya Baharani, Treasurers Harsheeta Jadhav and Devesh Mirpuri, Fundraising Chairs Krish Chellani and Ishika Sadarangani and Club Service Chairs Cansu Killic and Aryan Notani.  The following new members of the Earlyact Club were inducted: Aryan Jhangiani, Avinash Khemchandani, Cansu Kilic, Dev Sagre, Jaheim Meyers, Lilou Mouyal, Nathan Wijesiriwordance, Prena Kalra, Prena Ramchandani, Riana Jandial, Sanya Jandial. Rhoan Kalra, Savanah Ortega.
President Jeffrey “Soc” Sochrin said, “I am thrilled to see the strength of our new generation clubs at Learning Unlimited and I am encouraged by their plans to get involved in our community to make Service Above Self a reality.  The addition of 4 new Rotarians, 16 new Interactors and 14 new Earlyactors speaks to the strength of Rotary not only here on Sint Maarten, but around the globe.  Look forward to many new things from our Clubs as we continue to grow. I encourage adults and students alike to explore Rotary and to learn how they might become a member of the Rotary family”.
Keynote speaker, Stephen Thompson, a Past President of the Rotary Club of Sint Maarten and a Past Assistant Governor of Rotary District 7020 addressed the crowd of more than 125 attendees.  Mr. Thompson challenged the new Rotarians, Interactors and Earlyactors to get involved!  He said, “our success, your success will come from getting involved and making a difference”.
For more information about the Rotary Club of St. Maarten, please contact the Rotary Club of St. Maarten Press Officer at: or visit the website
#   #   #
About the Rotary Club of St. Maarten:
The Rotary Club of St. Maarten was chartered on March 17, 1972 as result of a September 1970 meeting to form a club on the island.  Since its formation, the Rotary Club of St. Maarten has grown in membership and has assisted in the formation of new clubs in the District, including Anguilla (1978), St. Martin Nord (1988), St. Martin Mid-Isle (1997) and St. Martin Sunrise (2004).  For more information, visit the club website at